Three Major Classifications of a Motorhome

A motorhome is a type of vehicle that has the basic features of a home, thus the name. It has three major classifications—Class A (bus type), Class B (wagon type), and Class C (cutaway type). Before purchasing a motorhome, it helps to understand its classification to determine which unit meets your traveling needs.

Class A
The bus-type RV is the largest of the three, designed for expanded families or large groups. The fact that its huge size allows it to house a vast array of amenities and its chassis—usually based on a semi—means it can support all that weight. Some Class-A motorhomes have partitions that stick out called slide-outs to increase interior space.
Class B
The van-type RV is the smallest of the three but the most versatile. Not only can it be used as an RV, Peterson writes, a Class-B motorhome can double as your everyday vehicle. You can drive it to work or pick up the kids from school. These RVs are made using the chassis of typical family vans.
Class C


The cutaway-type is an RV with the head and chassis of a pickup, and the body of a custom-made cabin. Typical Class C motorhomes lie somewhere in the middle in terms of amenities, size, and maneuverability. If living space is more important to you than amenities, a Class-C motorhome is a good choice.
Share Button